# 1<sup>ST</sup> ANNOUNCEMENT BIEN 2017

WOMAN SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS SHAPING THE FUTURE

## 31<sup>st</sup> AUGUST (THUR.) ~ 2<sup>nd</sup> SEPTEMBER (SAT.), 2017

THE PLAZA HOTEL, SEOUL, KOREA ORGANIZER: \*\* THE ASSOCIATION OF KOREAN WOMAN SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS

### Welcome Message

The International Conference of Women Scientists and Engineers (BIEN2017) will be held in The Plaza Hotel, Seoul, Korea from 31<sup>st</sup> August to 2<sup>nd</sup> September, 2017. BIEN conference has been initiated in 2003 as the first international conference organized by The Association of Korean Woman Scientists and Engineers (KWSE). This international conference aims to spread and exchange the achievements of Bio, Information, Environment/Energy/Earth, Nano and Space technology. We also try to strengthen the global capacity of women scientists and engineers by building international networks for collaboration and partnerships between domestic and foreign scientists and engineers.

We cordially invite you to this biggest international conference for women scientists and engineers, BIEN2017, in Korea. Sincerely,

Haryoung POO, Ph.D Chair of BIEN2017

Clycon Joon Hye-On YOON, Ph.D.
Chair of Organizing Committee

Hyo-Suk LIM, Ph.D.
Chair of Organizing Committee

# **Organizing Committee**

Division	Name	Affiliation			
BIEN2017 Chair	Haryoung POO	Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology			
Organizing Committee Chair	Hye-On YOON	Korea Basic Science Institute			
Organizing Committee Chair	Hyo-Suk LIM	Korea Aerospace Research Institute			
Scientific Committee Chair	Hyewhon RHIM	Korea Institute of Science and Technology			
Finance Committee Chair Mun Ja KANG		Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute			
Publicity Committee Chair	Myung-Ae CHUNG	Presidential Advisory Council on Science & Technology			
Planning Committee Chair	Sook-Kyung KIM	Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science			
Publication Committee Chair Eun-Wie CHO		Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology			
Gender Strategy Committee Chair Jung Sun KIM		Dongseo University			

### Scientific Committee

Division	Name	Affiliation			
Scientific Committee Chair	Hyewhon RHIM	Korea Institute of Science and Technology			
BT Subcommittee Chair	Jungwoon LEE	Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology			
IT Subcommittee Chair Jinah PARK		Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology			
E³T Subcommittee Chair	Meehye LEE	Korea University			
NT Subcommittee Chair	Eun Joo ROH	Korea Institute of Science and Technology			
ST Subcommittee Chair	Eun-Jung CHOI	Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute			

# Program (tentative)

Time	8. 31 (Thur.)			9. 1 (Fri.)				9. 2 (Sat.)
	Registration			Scientific Session (II)	Scientific Session (III)	Special Session (II)	Young Woman Scientist Camp	MAPWiST
Morning	Opening Ceremony  Plenary Session 1							
	Lunch							Closing
	Poster Session I			Poster Session II				
After noon	Scientific Session (I)	Special Session (I)	Young Woman Scientist Camp	Scientific Session (IV)	Scientific Session (V)	Special Session (III)	Young Woman Scientist Camp & Smart Sister Workshop	Optional Tour
	Р	lenary Session	II	Plenary Session III				
Evening	Welcome Reception			Banquet				

### Session Description

- Scientific Session
- · BT : Biotechnology
- ·IT : Information Technology
- · E<sup>3</sup>T : Environment/Energy/Earth Technology
- · NT : Nano Technology
- · ST : Space Technology
- Special Session I : Future Society
- Special Session II : Leadership
- Special Session III : Woman in Industry
- MAPWiST

### Dates to Remember

- Abstract submission deadline: 16<sup>th</sup> June
- Notification of acceptance : 30<sup>th</sup> June
- Early Registration deadline : 14<sup>th</sup> July

Contact

BIEN2017 Secretariat Office #801, National NanoFab Center (E19), 291 Daehak-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon 34141, Korea Tel. (+82)42 863 8318 Fax. (+82)42 863 8313 Email. yjkim@kwse.or.kr